Purdue University Graduate School
Jackson Thesis Formatted.pdf (695.35 kB)

Disclosing the Undisclosed: Social, Emotional, and Attitudinal Information as Modeled Predictors of #MeToo Posts.pdf

Download (695.35 kB)
posted on 2019-05-14, 19:35 authored by Diane Lynne JacksonDiane Lynne Jackson
This study proposes a social and emotional disclosure model for understanding the mechanism that explains sharing intimate information on social media (Twitter). Previous research has indicated that some aspects of social, emotional, and attitudinal information processing are involved in disclosure of intimate information. However, these factors have been considered in isolation. This study proposes and tests a theoretically grounded model that brings all of these factors together by combining individual and group social media behaviors and online information processing in the realm of online social movements. The core explanatory model considers the impact of peer response, emotional evaluation, personal relevance, issue orientation, and motivation to post online on intimate information disclosure online. A path analysis building on four Poisson multiple regressions conducted on 28,629 #MeToo tweets evaluates the relationships proposed in the explanatory model. Results indicate that emotional evaluation and motivation to post online have direct, positive impacts on online disclosure. Other factors such as peer response, issue orientation, and personal relevance have negative direct relationships with online disclosure. Motivation to post online mediates the effects of emotional evaluation, issue orientation, and personal relevance on online disclosure while issue orientation mediates the effect of personal relevance on motivation to post online. This study offers findings that have use for practitioners interested in hashtag virality and to social media users interested in social influence and online information sharing.


Degree Type

  • Master of Science


  • Communication

Campus location

  • West Lafayette

Advisor/Supervisor/Committee Chair

Dr. Sorin Matei

Additional Committee Member 2

Dr. John Greene

Additional Committee Member 3

Dr. Brian Smith