Purdue University Graduate School

Chs. 6, 10, 11

Reason: Data under review





until file(s) become available

Hochstetler AE Dissertation 7.26.22.pdf

posted on 2022-09-08, 16:38 authored by Alexandra Elizabeth HochstetlerAlexandra Elizabeth Hochstetler


Pediatric hydrocephalus is a complex neurological condition associated with a pathological accumulation of cerebrospinal fluid (CSF), typically within the brain ventricular system. Pediatric hydrocephalus can be primary (due to genetic abnormalities or idiopathic causes), or secondary to injuries such as hemorrhage, trauma, or infection. The current permanent treatment paradigms for pediatric hydrocephalus are exclusively surgical and include the diversion of CSF via shunt or ventriculostomy. These surgical interventions are wrought with failures, burdening both the United States healthcare system and patients with repeat neurosurgical procedures. Thus, the development of nonsurgical interventions to treat hydrocephalus represents a clinically unmet need. To study hydrocephalus, we use a genetic rat model of primary neonatal hydrocephalus, the Tmem67P394L mutant. In several proof-of-concept studies, we identify antagonism of the transient receptor potential vanilloid 4 (TRPV4) channel and associated upstream regulatory kinase, serum-and-glucocorticoid-induced kinase 1 (SGK1) as therapeutics for the treatment of hydrocephalus. Using in vitro models of the choroid plexus epithelium, the tissue which produces CSF, we show compelling proof-of-mechanism for TRPV4 antagonism and SGK1 inhibition at preventing CSF production. Therefore, the studies in this dissertation provide substantive evidence on the role of TRPV4 in the choroid plexus in health and disease. 


United States Department of Defense Congressionally Directed Medical Research Program; Hydrocephalus Association Innovator Award; Mayfield Educational Grant


Degree Type

  • Doctor of Philosophy


  • Biological Sciences

Campus location

  • Indianapolis

Advisor/Supervisor/Committee Chair

Bonnie L. Blazer-Yost

Additional Committee Member 2

Nicolas Berbari

Additional Committee Member 3

Anthony Baucum II

Additional Committee Member 4

Randall Roper

Additional Committee Member 5

Jeffrey Raskin

Usage metrics