Purdue University Graduate School
The role of SHP2 in metastatic breast cancer.pdf (8.71 MB)

The role of SHP2 in metastatic breast cancer

Download (8.71 MB)
posted on 2022-04-25, 13:11 authored by Hao ChenHao Chen


Metastatic breast cancer (MBC) is an extremely recalcitrant disease capable of overcoming targeted therapies and evading immune surveillance via the engagement of complicated signaling networks. Resistance to targeted therapies and therapeutic failure of immune checkpoint blockade (ICB) are two major challenges in treating MBC. To survive in the dynamic tumor microenvironment (TME) during metastatic progression, shared signaling nodes are required for MBC cells to regulate the signaling networks efficiently, which are potential multifunctional therapeutic targets. SH2 containing protein tyrosine phosphatase-2 (SHP2) is a druggable oncogenic phosphatase that is a key shared node in both tumor cells and immune cells. How tumor-cell autonomous SHP2 manages its signaling inputs and outputs to facilitate the growth of tumor cells, drug resistance, immunosuppression, and the limited response of ICB in MBC is not fully understood. Herein, we used inducible genetic depletion and two distinct types of pharmacological inhibitors to investigate anti-tumor effects with immune reprogramming during SHP2 targeting. 

We first focus on the signaling inputs and outputs of SHP2. We find that phosphorylation of SHP2 at Y542 predicts the survival rates of breast cancer patients and their immune profiles. Phosphorylation of SHP2 at Y542 is elevated with differential activation mechanisms under a growth-factor-induced and extracellular matrix (ECM)-rich culture environment. Phosphorylation of SHP2 at Y542 is also elevated in HER2 positive MBC cells upon acquired resistance to the HER2 kinase inhibitor, neratinib. The resistant cells can be targeted by SHP2 inhibitors. SHP2 inhibitors block ERK1/2 and AKT signaling and readily prevented MBC cell growth induced by multiple growth factors. Inhibition of SHP2 also blocks these signaling events generated from the ECM signaling. In fact, the inhibitory effects of SHP2 blockade are actually enhanced in the ECM-rich culture environment. We utilize the in vitro T-cell killing assays and demonstrate that pretreatment of tumor cells with FGF2 and PDGF reduces the cytotoxicity of CD8+ T cells in a SHP2-dependent manner. Both growth factors and ECM-rich culture environment transcriptionally induce PD-L1 via SHP2. SHP2 inhibition balances MAPK signaling and STAT1 signaling, which prevents growth factor-mediated suppression of INF-γ-induced expression of MHC class I. 

Next, we evaluate the efficacy of SHP2 inhibitors. Blockade of SHP2 in the adjuvant setting decreased pulmonary metastasis in vivo and extended the survival of systemic tumor-bearing mice. Tumor-cell autonomous depletion of SHP2 reduces pulmonary metastasis and relieves exhaustion markers on CD8+ and CD4+ cells. Meanwhile, both systemic SHP2 inhibition and tumor-cell autonomous SHP2 depletion reduce tumor-infiltrated CD4+ T cells and M2-polarized tumor associated macrophages. 

Finally, we investigate potential combination therapies with SHP2 inhibitors. The combination of SHP2 inhibitors and FGFR-targeted kinase inhibitors synergistically blocks the growth of MBC cells. Pharmacological inhibition SHP2 sensitizes MBC cells growing in the lung to α-PD-L1 antibody treatment via relieving T cell exhaustion induced by ICB. 

Overall, our findings support the conclusion that MBC cells are capable of simultaneously engaging several survival pathways and immune-suppressive mechanisms via SHP2 in response to multiple growth factors and ECM signaling. Inhibition of SHP2, potentially in combination with other targeted agents and ICB, holds promise for the therapeutic management of MBC.


Degree Type

  • Doctor of Philosophy


  • Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Campus location

  • West Lafayette

Advisor/Supervisor/Committee Chair

Michael K. Wendt

Additional Committee Member 2

Zhong-Yin Zhang

Additional Committee Member 3

Seung-Oe Lim

Additional Committee Member 4

Daniel P. Flaherty