Purdue University Graduate School
De'Shovon M. Shenault_Dissertation.pdf (5.28 MB)


Download (5.28 MB)
posted on 2023-07-27, 13:14 authored by De'Shovon M ShenaultDe'Shovon M Shenault

The development of a novel charge inversion ion/ion reaction in conjunction with a mass spectrometry technique (collisional induced dissociation (CID)) to induce fragmentation of selected ions species in the gas-phase. The utility of this experiment allows identification of varying saturated and unsaturated classes of glycerophospholipids (GPLs) in a biological matrix. In this work, we are able to characterize GPLs species at the subclass, headgroup, fatty acyl sum compositional levels,  leaving the location(s) of carbon-carbon single bond (C-C), carbon-carbon double bond (C=C), cyclopropane moiety, branching site and differentiate isomeric species. 

All data were collected on modified a Sciex QTRAP4000 hybrid triple quadrupole/linear ion trap mass spectrometer. Briefly, alternately, pulsed nano-electrospray ionization (nESI) was used for ion generation. Deprotonated lipid anions were generated via negative ion mode nESI, mass selected during transit through Q1, and transferred to q2 for storage. Next, the charge inversion (IIRXN) reagent doubly charged magnesium complex cations, were generated via positive ion mode nESI. To facilitate the ion/ion reaction, magnesium complex dictations and lipid anions were simultaneously stored in q2, resulting in the formation of charge-inverted lipid cations. Ion-trap CID of charge-inverted isomers resulted in distinctive fragmentation, facilitating differentiation of isomeric and localization of unsaturation sites in acyl chain constituents. 


U.S. National Institute of Health (NIH) under Grants GM R37-45372 and GM R01-118484


Degree Type

  • Doctor of Philosophy


  • Chemistry

Campus location

  • West Lafayette

Advisor/Supervisor/Committee Chair

Scott A. McLuckey

Additional Committee Member 2

Angeline M. Lyon

Additional Committee Member 3

Shalini T. Low-Nam

Additional Committee Member 4

Julia Laskin