Purdue University Graduate School
20191204_KAB_ParticlesInALinearlyStratifiedFluid.pdf (6.19 MB)

Particles in a linearly stratified fluid

Download (6.19 MB)
posted on 2019-12-04, 20:35 authored by Khushal Ashok BhatijaKhushal Ashok Bhatija
The settling of spherical and cylindrical particles in a linearly stratified fluid is investigated using experiments. The double-tank method is used to generate a linear stratification with a red colored dye homogeneously mixed in the heavy water tank. As a result of feeding the stratification using dyed heavy water, the concentration of dye varies with depth in the experiment tank. A powerful back-light and a digital camera are used to record the events. Assuming the concentration of dye is directly proportional to density of fluid, Beer-Lambert's law is used to generate a calibration between intensity of the light measured by the camera and density of the fluid. Using this calibration, density is evaluated in all the images captured. In the parameter space of this study, the spheres have three different wake patterns. The area of fluid disturbed by a suspension of spheres increases with Re and Fr. As a result, the amount of energy available for the mixing and the irreversible change of total potential energy in the system increases with Re, Fr and number of particles. Cylinders drag volumes of light fluid to larger depths in their wake than spheres and shed the light fluid in the form of vortices. This results in lower volumes of fluid perturbed by the cylinders. However, as the light fluid is dragged to larger depths, the amount of energy generated for mixing and the change in total potential energy of the system is higher. Spheres are thus more efficient in disturbing volumes of fluid but cylinders are more efficient in causing irreversible changes to the state of the system.


Degree Type

  • Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering


  • Mechanical Engineering

Campus location

  • West Lafayette

Advisor/Supervisor/Committee Chair

Arezoo Ardekani

Advisor/Supervisor/Committee co-chair

Matthieu Mercier

Additional Committee Member 2

Sadegh Dabiri

Additional Committee Member 3

Jun Chen